Progress on my Colors and Lines Study

I’ve been working feverishly to finish this painting.  I want to finish it while I have the time, before my baby is due- in 3 weeks.  After that- painting will happen during nap time if I’m not too tired and need a nap myself.

IMG_3078

I’ve been working on this project for over a year now.  It’s a study that shows what happens when each basic color is mixed with each other basic color, half and half.  I wanted to have a visual reference of each color’s relationship with each other color.  Some of the results have surprised me.  When I finish the painting stage I plan to write about my findings.

I started with solid blocks of color vertically and then overlayed them with a single line in the same colors (as best I could using paint markers) going horizontally.  The negative space in each colors block is the solid base color and the line is the overlay.

IMG_3076

My paints and palettles as they are beside my easal.

I’d better get back to work- I don’t have much time.

Leave a Reply

