Curried Rice and Beans

We had some heat and eat Indian food last night for dinner.  I love these, (so yummy) but we only had two boxes instead of the usual four. There wasn’t enough in the little boil in a pot packets and so I made this to go on the side.  I just grabbed the rice and a can of beans and just sort of threw it all together and thought it might be ok with some spices.  I’m glad I did, it was delicious, fast and filling.  Later on after dinner, I decided I just had to have this again and wrote down everything I did.  I tried to remember exactly how much of each spice, there were a lot of them. (Often, when I’m cooking on the fly like this, I just keep adding and tasting, adding and tasting, till it’s just right.)  It might need a little more of a spice, I tried to be conservative writing the amount of each.

Curried Rice and Beans

Curried Rice and Beans                                                                   serves 6

  • 3 Cups of water
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 1 1/2 ts of chicken bouillon
  • 3/4 ts of salt
  • 1/4 ts of pepper
  •  1/2 ts of onion powder
  •  1/2 ts of garlic powder
  •  3/4 ts of curry
  •  1/4 ts of cayenne
  •   1/4 ts of cumin
  •   1/4 ts of coriander
  •  1 1/2 Cups of long grain white rice
  •   1 15 oz. can, mostly drained of black beans
  •   1 medium sized onion, cut into 8ths or 1 in. squares                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Measure 3 cups of water into a medium sized pot.  Start the water heating to boil.  Put in the butter, chicken boulion and the spices.  Stir, till mixed and dissolved.  When the liquid is boiling, put in the rice, beans and onion.  Stir.  Turn the heat off and put on a tight fitting lid.  Let it sit without taking off the lid for about 25 minutes.  Stir again and serve.
2 thoughts on “Curried Rice and Beans

  1. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve
    read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips.

    Perhaps you can write next articles referring
    to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

