Hard Words

Your words
are so deep
and hard.
It’s hard to
absorb them in.
To fit them
into my brain.
Oh, but I want to.
I will find a way
to cram them in.
Round pegs
into a square hole.
They are so beatiful.
So full and rich-
Dense and packed in.
Like a neutron star.
Surging with energy
and matter within.
Heavy.
I want to understand them.
To derive the fullness
of their wisdom.
There is so much in them-
my intensely talented
poet, friend.
Diamonds.

This poem is about the way I felt after reading one of my friend, Ivana Nagyova’s poems. She is the best poet I can think of- (living and dead.) her writing is like rich foreign chocolate.

Leave a Reply

